Feature Graphic
Powermat Wireless Charging System
Feature Graphic
Jawbone Icon Bluetooth Headset
Feature Graphic
TomTom Car Kit for iPhone
Feature Graphic
Tivo and Mac Video Sharing - Roxio Toast and PyTivo to link your Mac
Feature Graphic
Doc to Go reads, creates, & edits Microsoft Office docs on iPhone

Home | About | Advertising | Search



PowerPay dishes more... [u]
April 19th 2008

Related Articles
- Intego warns of iWork '09 trojan
- EFiX dongle's creator disavows clone plans [u]
- Another OS X-compatible trojan appears
- Opera on iPhone shot down? Never happened
- Teen posted Jobs 'heart attack' story
- 'Your honor the defendants are idiots'
- Will Apple shutter iTunes?
- US Senate passes Webcaster Settlement Act
- Internet radio, content owners agree
- Apple stamps rejection letters with NDA

[u] Tom Krazit of News.com writes that he placed an order on Wednesday and his credit card was billed today, though he hasn't yet received a shipping notice.

"Orders are being shipped in the order that they were received—don't worry; you'll get yours soon," says PsyStar on their site. "Upon shipment, an e-mail notification, including tracking information, will be sent to you automatically."

The company's online store is back up and the company is using a new credit card processor.[u]

ComputerWorld is reporting additional comments from PowerPay, the company that unceremoniously dumped PsyStar, refusing to process the would-be Mac cloner's credit payments.

"[PsyStar] processed almost 200% of [its] anticipated annual volume over just a few days," said Stephen Goodrich, chief executive, PowerPay. "In doing so, the applicant never used AVS (address verification services) which is a vital part of validating cardholder consent. This, coupled with the fact that [its] product was substantially different from what was described in the application left PowerPay no choice but to suspend services."

Over the top sales? Well, that's usually a good thing™, but coupled with a lack of verification and you've got a company, PsyStar, that's too dumb to get paid.

Apple iPod touch 16GB now only $334.99


And, that PsyStar didn't accurately describe the nature of their business? Well, it's not like they're selling DIY meth labs or automatic weapons.

Nevertheless, although this point alone likely isn't grounds for anything more stringent than a follow up phone call, taken in context it's just another reason to just say no.

Where's the beef?

I suppose, ultimately, the one thing that matters the most is this: PsyStar has taken orders and presumably money, but hasn't delivered box one. After all, we're just talking about Hackintoshes, which have been available via Craig's List, etc for quite some time—not rocket science.

Thereupon, even with all the sleazy, brain-dead things PsyStar's done to date, if they were putting functioning Leopard boxes on people's desks for the advertised price, I think there'd be a lot of forgiveness out there...

What's your take?

Buy a refurbished iPod nano, and get 15 songs on us.
Exclusive offer. Limited time only.

Connect with Insanely Great Mac

RSS  iTunes  Twitter   YouTube  Facebook

Reader Comments


I wish 'em well.
Posted by Guest Poster #1 on 04/19/08 11:14 PM

Clones are trouble, period! All the fools that buy these will be coming to Apple stores asking for support. Remember people, Apple will not support you at all! You are on your own with everything you do with these PC pieces of CRAP!
You get what you pay for, but I hope Apple shuts them down.
You're better off with a Mini in so many ways for a hundred dollars more.
I hope Apple shuts them down! Posted by Guest Poster #2 on 04/20/08 10:58 AM

We'd be better off with an Apple-branded, upgradeable mini-tower.
Posted by Guest Poster #3 on 04/20/08 12:01 PM

So pls configure an openpro as similar to the entry level Mac Pro as you can get. And then look at the price. Not worth it.
(Still, Apple could stop us thinking about these boxes by making ....)
Posted by Hauer on 04/20/08 3:08 PM

This is not a set up? Just a more elaborate version of what sometimes happens on eBay. There will very likely be no computers, and those who plunked down their orders will be lucky if the only amount of $$ taken off their credit card is the amount they entered at the site. Did you see where the site host is from?
Have none of you been reading ALL of the articles on this situation? Different addresses; addresses given of places where the landlord hasn't a clue who is being referred to; and reports of only one person being spoken to on the phone, and that person was not entirely forthcoming. No record of this company anywhere other than a registration of
the DBA back in 2000, then this site appears with a story within the past two weeks. It's very easy to register a DBA. I find it remarkable that anyone would believe this is real, and more remarkable that they give their credit card numbers based solely on this information and wishful thinking.
I hope I am wrong. How easily people are willing to believe this because it sells an idea that they only want to be real never ceases to amaze...and sadden?
Like I state...I hope I am wrong.
do you not see? Posted by Guest Poster #5 on 04/20/08 6:07 PM

This "company" may very well deliver a PC that has Mac OS installed on it. And it may work just fine for a while. Eventually, a software update will break it. It doesn't matter if it is intentional or otherwise it WILL break. Good luck getting support from these guys. They don't even know their own address.
Posted by Guest Poster #6 on 04/21/08 1:08 AM

Name
Subject
Comments
CAPTCHA Image

Reload Image


IGM Specials



























Home

About

Advertising

Search

Copyright 1995-2010 Insanely Great Mac. All rights reserved.
Privacy Statment | Terms of Service