Dropbox changes to a single 1 TB Pro plan


By

Dropbox announced this week an overhaul of its paid storage options. The company is replacing its old tiers of storage plans with a single 1 TB option. Pricing is $10/mo or $99. On the old plan that would have bought you just 100 GB, so this is a significant boost.

Other new features are available to Pro customers. New sharing options let you assign passwords and expiration dates to shared links. Also you can share folders as view-only.

One really cool feature is the ability to remotely wipe your sync'd data from devices. This is handy if you lose access to your computer and are concerned about your data.

Another change is Dropbox is altering the pack rat file versioning feature. Pack Rat allows customers to restore previous versions of their data. The feature will now only go back 1 year. The company said most customers don't restore files that old, although for a limited time it seems current customers can retain the unlimited version control.

The moves are likely addressing storage offerings from Google and Apple. Google also has a 1 TB plan for around $120 and Apple is planning to offer much more competitive pricing for its retooled iCloud storage. iCloud will offer 200 GB of storage for less than $50, which was half as much as Dropbox was offering 100 GB.